emporium of imagination book cover

What I’m Reading: The Emporium of Imagination by Tabitha Bird

I’m finally getting around to sharing more of my recent reads – another sublime book from Tabitha Bird. I had big expectations after reading the beautifully crafted “A Lifetime of Impossible Days” and was delighted that “The Emporium of Imagination” was equally good or perhaps better.  I’m in awe of Tabitha’s ability to bring magic, wonder and heart-warming characters to …

Seeds from the Story Tree book on a starry background

Get your FREE book – Seeds from the Story Tree

I recently decided I want to give my subscribers a thank you or welcome gift that was exclusive to them. The result is Seeds from the Story Tree – a FREE collection of award-winning speculative fiction stories and other short works. About Seeds from the Story Tree Bushfire and violence threatens the search for the next Storyteller and the survival of …

Beginnings: The Kyprian Prophecy – An Origins Novella – FREE Book

To celebrate the upcoming launch of The Firemaster’s Legacy: The Kyprian Prophecy Book 1 I have released a FREE novella, Beginnings, which sets the scene for the world of Kypria and its prophecy. Beginnings is a standalone book and you don’t need to read it before any of the others in the Kyprian Prophecy series, but if YA fantasy (and …

Firemaster's Legacy book in front of castle and book review

The Firemaster’s Legacy – New Book – Release Dates

I’m beyond excited to officially announce the upcoming release of The Firemaster’s Legacy: The Kyprian Prophecy Book 1 – an epic fantasy and YA adventure series perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone series. It’s already getting some great reviews from early readers on Goodreads. The Firemaster’s Legacy Release Dates The Firemaster’s Legacy is …

Loki TV series promotional image

What I’m Loving Right Now: Loki

What’s better than one Loki? The answer is simple…infinite Lokis and that’s exactly what you get – as well as a load of mischief – in the Loki TV series. Loki happens to be my favourite Marvel character and who doesn’t love Tom Hiddleston’s portrayal of this anti-hero in the Avengers movies? I have to say this series was a …

What I’m Loving Right Now: Shadow and Bone

The Shadow and Bone series, based on the best-selling novels by author Leigh Bardugo, may feature the typical ‘chosen one’ fantasy trope, but it’s refreshing enough to get you hooked. With some fabulous CGI, a talented cast and a band of misfit criminals, there’s plenty to keep you watching. Alina Starkov (Jessie Mei Li) is an orphaned mapmaker in a …

What I’m Loving Right Now: Snowpiercer

It’s no accident that trains are a central feature in many great stories. From Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express to the Hogwarts Express in Harry Potter, trains are much more than a form of transport. They conjure up feelings of romance, mystery, a journey into the unknown or in the case of Snowpiercer, the train represents humankind’s only …

3 Things Every Girl Can Learn from Hermione Granger

It may very well be the biggest debate of the century, or at least it is in some circles of writers and readers – is Hermione Granger a Ravenclaw or not? The Sorting Hat faced the same dilemma, spending nearly four minutes trying to decide which house to place Hermione in, before finally settling on Gryffindor. Ravenclaws prize wit, learning, …

Avengers Belonging

3 Things Infinity War Can Teach Us About Belonging

So many of us struggle at one time or another to find where we belong. From kindergarten to university, to the communities we live in, our jobs, and in our relationships – we all want that feeling of belonging. We want to feel we are a part of something, and we can be ourselves. Even superheroes aren’t immune to this. …

Defying The Odds with Dystopia

We’ve all heard the big names; Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth and James Dashner. Thanks to their wildly successful novels and blockbuster film adaptations, these authors are the ones to look to when it comes to dystopian fiction. Over the past few years, this particular genre has skyrocketed in popularity among young adults and they can’t seem get to enough of …