Beginnings: The Kyprian Prophecy – An Origins Novella – FREE Book

To celebrate the upcoming launch of The Firemaster’s Legacy: The Kyprian Prophecy Book 1 I have released a FREE novella, Beginnings, which sets the scene for the world of Kypria and its prophecy. Beginnings is a standalone book and you don’t need to read it before any of the others in the Kyprian Prophecy series, but if YA fantasy (and …

Firemaster's Legacy book in front of castle and book review

The Firemaster’s Legacy – New Book – Release Dates

I’m beyond excited to officially announce the upcoming release of The Firemaster’s Legacy: The Kyprian Prophecy Book 1 – an epic fantasy and YA adventure series perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone series. It’s already getting some great reviews from early readers on Goodreads. The Firemaster’s Legacy Release Dates The Firemaster’s Legacy is …

Loki TV series promotional image

What I’m Loving Right Now: Loki

What’s better than one Loki? The answer is simple…infinite Lokis and that’s exactly what you get – as well as a load of mischief – in the Loki TV series. Loki happens to be my favourite Marvel character and who doesn’t love Tom Hiddleston’s portrayal of this anti-hero in the Avengers movies? I have to say this series was a …

wine hearts and wine

You Had Me at… Flash Fiction

The following flash fiction story was shortlisted in the Australian Writers’ Centre’s Furious Fiction contest a little while ago. We were given half a dozen descriptive prompts to include, such as, ‘cold and greasy’. I hope you enjoy it. ‘Sweet and pungent,’ he says with authority before sloshing the wine around his mouth. In fervent concentration, his eyebrows dart around …

This Month’s Writing Tip: Enjoying the “Process”

I recently saw an interview with the cast of a Quentin Tarantino movie with the actors saying they celebrated regularly throughout the whole filmmaking process, and not just at the end. Apparently Tarantino subscribes to the belief that if you are involved in a creative pursuit, you should enjoy all of the process not just the “red carpet” bit at …

What I’m Loving Right Now: Shadow and Bone

The Shadow and Bone series, based on the best-selling novels by author Leigh Bardugo, may feature the typical ‘chosen one’ fantasy trope, but it’s refreshing enough to get you hooked. With some fabulous CGI, a talented cast and a band of misfit criminals, there’s plenty to keep you watching. Alina Starkov (Jessie Mei Li) is an orphaned mapmaker in a …

This Month’s Writing Tip: Pushing Through Writer’s Block

There comes a time in nearly every project when a writer encounters writer’s block. Writer’s block can feel crippling but the most important thing to know is that it is only a temporary state – unless of course you stop writing. The other good news is that it is possible to conquer this dreaded condition. In fact there are loads …

What I’m Loving Right Now: Snowpiercer

It’s no accident that trains are a central feature in many great stories. From Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express to the Hogwarts Express in Harry Potter, trains are much more than a form of transport. They conjure up feelings of romance, mystery, a journey into the unknown or in the case of Snowpiercer, the train represents humankind’s only …

What I’m Reading: Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop By Roselle Lim

Roselle Lim’s latest book, Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop, perfectly captures the same lighthearted, fabulist rom-com style of her debut novel, Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune. Lim is particularly adept at weaving the magical and fantastical into vividly described and familiar settings. As the title indicates, the setting of the latest book is Paris, with Vanessa exploring …

Discovery of Witches

What I’m Loving Right Now: A Discovery of Witches

A Discovery of Witches was an easy sell for me. All they needed to say was that Matthew Goode, a Downton Abbey favourite, stars as an enigmatic vampire, who teams up with a witch (played by Aussie Teresa Palmer) to solve some ancient mysteries and kick some serious butt along the way. This show, based on the All Souls trilogy, …