emporium of imagination book cover

What I’m Reading: The Emporium of Imagination by Tabitha Bird

I’m finally getting around to sharing more of my recent reads – another sublime book from Tabitha Bird. I had big expectations after reading the beautifully crafted “A Lifetime of Impossible Days” and was delighted that “The Emporium of Imagination” was equally good or perhaps better.  I’m in awe of Tabitha’s ability to bring magic, wonder and heart-warming characters to …

sparse desert alien landscape night time

Never Again – Flash Fiction

“An adventure into the unknown,” my friends said, “it will be fun”. They lied. I’m not sure why I agreed to it. I had lived all of my 41 years in the safety zone, always colouring inside the lines and never straying too far from my creature comforts of home. The riskiest thing I’d ever done was order my jungle …

Seeds from the Story Tree book on a starry background

Get your FREE book – Seeds from the Story Tree

I recently decided I want to give my subscribers a thank you or welcome gift that was exclusive to them. The result is Seeds from the Story Tree – a FREE collection of award-winning speculative fiction stories and other short works. About Seeds from the Story Tree Bushfire and violence threatens the search for the next Storyteller and the survival of …

Devouring Gray book

What I’m Reading: The Devouring Gray By Christine Lynn Herman

I was a little late to the party when it came to The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman having picked it up at my local bookshop because of its comparisons to Stranger Things and Riverdale. But I’m glad I did.  The story follows Violet Saunders who moves to the small town, Four Paths – a place with dark secrets …

neon open sign

It’s Just Common – Flash Fiction

‘Supervisor!’ The officious sounding voice rings out over the incessant dinging of the bell on the counter.  I pop my head over the top of my cubicle, startled to find my colleagues at the shire council office have vanished into thin air.   ‘You there,’ the owner of the voice points at me. Other words follow at breakneck speed but they’re lost on …

What I’m Reading: Pachinko By Min Jin Lee

I’ve been catching up on my “to be read” list lately and finally got to Pachinko by Min Jin Lee. I’m just sorry I didn’t read it sooner. Pachinko is a multi-generational spanning most of the 20th century in Korea and Japan. An exquisitely told saga that mainly follows Sunja who falls pregnant to a yakuza boss. She must find …

Beginnings: The Kyprian Prophecy – An Origins Novella – FREE Book

To celebrate the upcoming launch of The Firemaster’s Legacy: The Kyprian Prophecy Book 1 I have released a FREE novella, Beginnings, which sets the scene for the world of Kypria and its prophecy. Beginnings is a standalone book and you don’t need to read it before any of the others in the Kyprian Prophecy series, but if YA fantasy (and …

Firemaster's Legacy book in front of castle and book review

The Firemaster’s Legacy – New Book – Release Dates

I’m beyond excited to officially announce the upcoming release of The Firemaster’s Legacy: The Kyprian Prophecy Book 1 – an epic fantasy and YA adventure series perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone series. It’s already getting some great reviews from early readers on Goodreads. The Firemaster’s Legacy Release Dates The Firemaster’s Legacy is …

Loki TV series promotional image

What I’m Loving Right Now: Loki

What’s better than one Loki? The answer is simple…infinite Lokis and that’s exactly what you get – as well as a load of mischief – in the Loki TV series. Loki happens to be my favourite Marvel character and who doesn’t love Tom Hiddleston’s portrayal of this anti-hero in the Avengers movies? I have to say this series was a …

wine hearts and wine

You Had Me at… Flash Fiction

The following flash fiction story was shortlisted in the Australian Writers’ Centre’s Furious Fiction contest a little while ago. We were given half a dozen descriptive prompts to include, such as, ‘cold and greasy’. I hope you enjoy it. ‘Sweet and pungent,’ he says with authority before sloshing the wine around his mouth. In fervent concentration, his eyebrows dart around …